CV Teaching & Service




Awards and Recognition


  • 2015 Kelley School of Business Trustees Teaching Award nomination.

  • 2003 Excellent Instructor General Motors Tech-Ed Program (Managerial Economics)

  • 2001 MBA Teaching Excellence Award recipien

  • Voted by Kelley MBA Students

  • 2001 PhD Innovative Teaching Award recipient.

  • Voted by the Doctoral Policy Committee

  • Nominee for the Sauvain Teaching Award. Awarded to the outstanding undergraduate professor in the Kelley School of Business. 1998-1999 and 1999-2000


Teaching Areas


  • Game Theory and Business Strategy

  • Business and the Environment

  • Regulation and Antitrust

  • Industrial Organization

  • Business and Public Policy

  • Microeconomic Theory



Courses Taught (* denotes course developed or co-developed from scratch)


Doctoral Courses


  • Economic Theory in Business Decisions 1 (Microeconomic Theory)*

  • Industrial Organization and Business Strategy 1 (Class in Industrial Organization taught to PhD candidates from the department of Economics and the department of Business Economics)

  • Current Research in Environmental Economics (Seminar taught to PhD candidates from department of Business Economics and the School of Public and Environmental Affairs)*


MBA Courses


  • Corporate Non-Market Strategy*

  • Business Strategy and the Environment*

  • Thinking Strategically Game Theory and Business Strategy*

  • Power Pricing*

  • The Economic Environment of Business

  • Economics for Managers*


Undergraduate Courses


  • Non-Market Risk Consulting

  • Global Environment of Business

  • Sustainable Enterprise: Strategic CSR*

  • Game Theory and Business Strategy*

  • Business Enterprise and Public Policy

  • Economic Strategy for a Global Environment

  • Managerial Economics and Business Strategy


Ph.D Thesis Supervision (Initial Placements, * denotes principal advisor)


  • Dan Matisoff (IU SPEA), Georgia Tech

  • Beatrice Rousillon, University of Manchester.

  • Kyle Anderson – Indiana University KSB.

  • Robert Ridlon – SKK University, Seoul, Korea.

  • Dong Chen* – Peking University

  • Susan Chen – University of North Dakota

  • Qiang Fu – National University of Singapore

  • Li Jing – Simon Fraser University

  • Christopher Decker* - University of Nebraska (Omaha)

  • Kelley Lear-Nordby* – LECG


Committee Member for various Ph.D. Candidates from the Department of Economics, IU.


Memberships in Professional Groups and Organizations


  • FRSA, Founding Board Member, Alliance for Research in Corporate Sustainability, Network for Business Sustainability, American Economic Association, Canadian Economic Association, Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Study Group, Global Network of Environmental Economists, Western Economics Association, Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis/The Ostrom Workshop.